Meet our Board

Our Board has ultimate responsibility for making sure that Eastlight Community Homes is run properly and delivers for our customers. Our new Customer Influence Committee is a crucial part of our governance framework, enabling high-level resident oversight and influence.

Board Picture Removebg Preview
Hattie Llewelyn Davies (1)

Hattie Llewelyn-Davies


Hattie is a highly experienced Chair and well known in the housing sector.

She was awarded an OBE for services to homeless people in 2004. She was appointed Chair of Eastlight in 2020, following three years leading the Board at pre-merger organisation Colne Housing.

Hattie started her career working with homeless people sleeping rough and firmly believes everyone has a right to have a home.

Committed to equality, she has been challenging prejudice against gay people in housing for decades.

She is also Chair of the Princess Alexandra Hospital NHS Trust (PAHT) and Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust.


Dale Butcher (1)

Dale Butcher

Vice Chair

A highly-skilled businessman with expertise in strategy, transformation and growth, Dale has been Vice Chair since Eastlight was formed in 2020.

Previously he was Chair of our pre-merger organisation Greenfields Community Housing.

He is Chair of our Investment Committee and brings a blend of commercial knowledge, understanding of development and the needs of our residents and communities to our Board. 

Having spent more than 25 years in the Automotive Industry in retail and distribution, Dale is also an adviser to the Emil Frey Group of Switzerland (2012), a board member of the Enthusiasm Trust Derby (2014) and a Trustee of the Inchcape Pension Scheme.


David Russell (1)

David Russell

Senior Independent Director (SID)

As Senior Independent Director, David serves as a sounding board for the Chair and acts as an intermediary for other directors. 

David has strong skills in governance and shares his values and commitment to social development. He is our Board champion for sustainability, ensuring that our homes are fit for purpose now and in the future. He is member of our Governance, Nominations and Remuneration Committee (GNR) and Audit and Risk Committee (ARC).

Following a distinguished Royal Navy career, David became Chief Executive of the charity The Harpur Trust from 2002-2019.


Kay Vowles (1)

Kay Vowles

Board Member

Housing consultant Kay has held a number of senior positions in housing associations and with the former regulator the Housing Corporation. 

Kay is highly motivated by Eastlight’s commitment to our residents,  communities and its ambitions to be a leading housing association in the East of England. She is a member of our Governance & People Committee (G&P) and Audit and Risk Committee (ARC).

Kay has been an interim Chief Executive for a considerable number of organisations and has extensive experience as a Non-Executive Director and change programmes.

Cha Patel (1)

Cha Patel

Board Member

Cha is a corporate finance specialist and has held Non-Executive and consultancy roles in a variety of housing associations, healthcare, social and commercial organisations.

She has worked in the commercial sector with expertise in finance, growth, change management, risk and treasury. She is Chair our Audit and Risk Committee (ARC).

Cha has been involved in a large number of mergers, acquisitions and financings and has garnered a lot of cross sector expertise.


Eastlight board member Malcolm O'Brien

Malcolm O’Brien

Board Member

A Human Resources expert, Malcolm has worked in the housing sector for over 17 years. He is currently Executive Director of Corporate Services at Swan Housing. He has been in HR for over 30 years and has lead the strategic development of IT, EDI, Communications and Facilities Management.

Malcolm also has significant experience in leading business and cultural change. He is Chair of our Governance & People Committee (G&P).


Simon Jones (1)

Simon Jones

Board Member

Simon is a chartered accountant who enjoyed a successful 30-year career with Grant Thornton UK LLP.

He is committed to organisations with clear purpose and strong values, like Eastlight, and also brings expertise in audit, governance and assurance. He sits on our Investment Committee and Audit and Risk Committee (ARC).

His last roles were as Chief Financial Officer and  Chief Operating Officer for the £500 million professional services partnership, covering audit, tax and advisory services.


Michelle Baker

Michelle Baker

Board Member and Chair, Customer Influence Committee (CIC) 

Michelle, an accountant, is an Eastlight resident and reflects the views of customers at every opportunity. 

She reflects Eastlight’s customer voice at sector events and in the media and is passionate about improving the experience for disabled people.

To ensure a wide range of residents can be involved in Eastlight, she advocates flexible and digital engagement opportunities that fit around people's lives.

Michelle also serves her local community as clerk and Responsible Financial Officer for her parish council.

She is also Chair of our Customer Influence Committee.

Mike Johnson (1)

Mike Johnson

Board Member

Mike has worked in the housing sector for 35 years.

He brings a experience of building homes, regeneration, asset management and setting up strategic joint ventures.  

He is Group Development Director at One Housing Group and a member of the sector’s G15 Development Directors Group.

Our Committee Members

Andrew Hill (1)

Andrew Hill

Investment Committee

Andrew brings strategic financial experience to Eastlight.

He is a Fellow of the Association of Corporate Treasurers, and a Non-Executive Director with substantial experience in the corporate treasury sector.

He is currently an independent treasury consultant.

Chris Miller (1)

Chris Miller

Investment Committee

Chris has more than 30 years of housing and development experience.

He is Development Director at 33,000-home housing association Midland Heart and leading their ambition to build 3,000 homes by 2024.

He is also a Board Member at homelessness charity St Basils, which works with young people.

Jo Savage (1)

Jo Savage

Governance & People Committee

An experienced housing leader, Jo is currently Chief Executive of Greatwell Homes where she has steered the organisation through strategic change. 

She has worked in housing for more than 30 years, is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Housing  (CIH) and a member of the Institute of Directors (IoD).

Julia Thomas (1)

Julia Thomas

Governance & People Committee

Julia is a legal advisor, having worked in criminal law, local government and other non-profit organisations. 

She is committed to supporting the rights of children and young people and works for Ofsted as an advisory lawyer, specialising in education law and public law.